Memphis Time Gets Delayed

This is not the blog I expected to send.  But things happen when you travel.

The trip to Memphis started on a good note.  I was excited to start it off and got an early jump on getting to the airport.  Not much traffic on the highway.

Checked in at 4:30 am and waited to board.  Although my camera bag got a second look from the TSA.

On the flight to Atlanta, I sat with a young couple on their way to Costa Rica to surf.

Arrived in Atlanta and had to go to 3 different gates before I hit the Memphis plane.

While waiting to board I meet Chris from Petey Hop’s band and we got ready for the trip to Memphis.

We boarded the 10:30 flight and were ready to go.  Then the Announcement came We have a hydraulic problem.  The repair part was in Minneapolis, so we deplaned and all of us put on standby for the Memphis flights.

I will spare you the next 7 hours of going from gate to gate seeing if we could get on.  Finally a customer service rep moved Chris and I up the standby list.

While waiting for a plane, ran into Bill “Swamp” Shaka and Tony C the Connecticut Solo/duo act.  Also spent time talking with Bill Wax, President of the Blues Foundation board and XM Bluesville DJ.  So despite all the problems with Delta it did seem like I was on my way to Memphis.

We get to the 4:20 flight and Chris is called on.  I am the last person to board.  While getting ready to sit down, they come and get me, seems like this seat was for a passenger traveling from India.  Back out I go to wait for another flight.  This time I was confirmed for the 5:35 departure.

At last I board the plane and immediately fall asleep.

Arriving in Memphis, I go to wait for the TennCo shuttle.  The owner Alonso is coming to get us.  A band from Las Vegas is traveling and their energy level is really high.

Got to my hotel and cleaned up but by that time the night was over, for me anyway.

I will get some reports on the Beale Streeet action from Tuesday and include them in the coming reports.

About bluesbeatnews52

Blues columnist writing a weekly column dedicated to the Blues. The only column of its kind in a commercial (paid subscription) newspaper. Column appears in the Middletown Press, Bristol Press, Torrington Register-Citizen, and the New Britain Herald. Forcella has served on the Board of Directors of the Blues Foundation representing the Journalism constituency. Served on the Board of Directors Connecticut Blues Society as Past President and Past Editor of newsletter. Recipient: Keeping the Blues Alive award in Journalism from the Blues Foundation. Has contributed both writing and photos to nationnal blues publications.

Leave a Reply

