Blues Hall of Fame 2012

The 2012 Blues Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held on May 9 in Memphis, Tennessee.

The Blues Hall of Fame is a historical record of those who have made the Blues timeless through performance, documentation, and recording. Since its inception in 1980, The Blues Foundation has inducted new members annually into the Blues Hall of Fame for their historical contribution, impact and overall influence on the Blues.

Members are inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in five categories: Performers, Individuals, Classic of Blues Literature, Classic of Blues Recording (Song), Classic of Blues Recording (Album). Accordingly, individuals, recordings and literature are included in the Blues Hall of Fame.

There is no submission or nomination process for induction in to the Blues Hall of Fame. Rather, each year in the fall, a distinguished panel of blues scholars begins the process of discussing who they believe should be given consideration for induction into the Blues Hall of Fame. After some back and forth, they vote in each of the five categories. The number of nominees in a year may vary.

2012 Blues Hall of Fame Inductees

The Blues Foundation has announced the 2012 inductees for the Blues Hall of Fame, including Chicago harp master Billy Boy Arnold; blues-rock guitar virtuoso Mike Bloomfield; brother/sister recording act Buddy & Ella Johnson; South Louisiana swamp blues artist Lazy Lester; Memphis bluesmen Furry Lewis and Frank Stokes; guitar genius Matt “Guitar” Murphy; and New Orleans musician, songwriter, and producer Allen Toussaint.

Among the other individuals being recognized by The Blues Foundation this year are: Chicago Blues radio force Pervis Spann; German “American Folk Blues Festival” promoters Horst Lippmann and Fritz Rau; and songwriting legend Doc Pomus.

The books Bessie by Chris Albertson and The Voice of the Blues: Classic Interviews from Living Blues Magazine, edited by Jim O’Neal & Amy van Singel, will also be inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame.

These albums are also being honored: Damn Right, I’ve Got the Blues by Buddy Guy (1991) and Bad Influence by Robert Cray (1984). The following singles will be inducted during the ceremony: “It Hurts Me Too” by Tampa Red (1940); “Pine Top’s Boogie Woogie” by Pine Top Smith (1928); and “All Your Love” by Magic Sam (1957).

The Blues Foundation is currently conducting the Campaign for the Blues Hall of Fame, a $3.5 million capital campaign to add Hall of Fame exhibits to our offices at 421 South Main. To find out how you can be a part of this project, contact Executive Director Jay Sieleman at 901.527.2583 ext. 12.

About bluesbeatnews52

Blues columnist writing a weekly column dedicated to the Blues. The only column of its kind in a commercial (paid subscription) newspaper. Column appears in the Middletown Press, Bristol Press, Torrington Register-Citizen, and the New Britain Herald. Forcella has served on the Board of Directors of the Blues Foundation representing the Journalism constituency. Served on the Board of Directors Connecticut Blues Society as Past President and Past Editor of newsletter. Recipient: Keeping the Blues Alive award in Journalism from the Blues Foundation. Has contributed both writing and photos to nationnal blues publications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: