International Blues Challenge – A busy Friday

bnr-home-03

Friday was a busy day with a lot to cover.  The biggest part of the day was spent with Women in Blues.  Over four hours of musical talent and a crowd kinship that was hard to match.  I will post a separate Blog on the WiB.

I stopped in the DoubleTree on my way to Beale.  Had a chance to meet up with Art Tipaldi and Dick and Cinda Waterman.  And know better than to point the camera at two really good photographers.  I’ll try for candids next time.

Penny Lane was doing her radio show.

zDSC_2443

 

 

 

 

Barbara Newman visiting with fans.

zDSC_2459

 

 

 

 

Then it was off to Women in Blues  — more in future Blog.

DSC_2476

 

 

 

 

 

 

From here, it was up Beale St to the Ernest C. Withers Gallery.  I used to visit there when it was a photo studio/office and now I stop in to see grandson Ernest (reminder photo needed).  He invited me to the Spoken Word Concert that was being held later that evening.  I hoped to try and make it.

yDSC_0146

 

 

 

 

 

So it was now off to Rum Boogie and my turn to be interviewed at Music on the Couch.  This is an enjoyable part of the IBC.  Not me being interviewed but listening to Vinny talk with some the acts.

wDSC_0060

 

 

 

 

 

The Youth Showcase was next.  I made it back to Alfred’s with time to spare.  Caught some of the act.

xDSC_2966

 

 

 

 

 

John Del Toro Richardson joins us

John Del Toro Richardson joins us

 

 

 

 

 

Jake and the Lowdown

Jake and the Lowdown

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anthony

Anthony

Jeremy

Jeremy

 

Jake

Jake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay now is was the IBC Semis and Connecticut’s entrant Ramblin’ Dan Stevens and Clayton Allen made the cut.  I did get to see more Solo/Duo this year and it was a whole different set of skills.

dDSC_0087

DSC_0115

 

 

 

 

 

After watching Dan and Clayton, I headed back to the Withers Gallery.  Ernest had saved me a place and I entered a pretty packed room.  This was not the blues but some of the poets work could have been used for inspiration.  I watched and listened as the thoughts and feeling were expressed.  I have to say I was glad Ernest didn’t let me skip out as I enjoyed and learned.  The Gallery continues to add new features.  It really is a part of history and when in Memphis not to be missed.

gDSC_0145

gDSC_0148

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

gDSC_0136

Emcee Mays and Poet

Mays and a poet

 

 

 

 

 

I  was now a little hungry for wings.  A few doors up is Lew’s Blew Note.  Wings and a little entertainment was a nice way to ease into the end of the evening.

DSC_0149

DSC_0151

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the entertainment

DSC_3219

DSC_3225

DSC_3229

 

 

 

 

 

Hot time on Beale.

Questions/comments, I can be reached through the Blog comments or at twblus@aol.com.  BluesBeatNews is written, produced, directed and photographed by Domenic Forcella.  My weekly Blues Beat column appears in the New Britain Herald, Bristol Press, Middletown Press and Torrington Register-Citizen.

About bluesbeatnews52

Blues columnist writing a weekly column dedicated to the Blues. The only column of its kind in a commercial (paid subscription) newspaper. Column appears in the Middletown Press, Bristol Press, Torrington Register-Citizen, and the New Britain Herald. Forcella has served on the Board of Directors of the Blues Foundation representing the Journalism constituency. Served on the Board of Directors Connecticut Blues Society as Past President and Past Editor of newsletter. Recipient: Keeping the Blues Alive award in Journalism from the Blues Foundation. Has contributed both writing and photos to nationnal blues publications.

Leave a Reply

